DusyantSingh D

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Kasari, Madhya Pradesh

One of my books I have not received yet

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - One of my books I have not received yet
AbeBooks - One of my books I have not received yet - Image 2
I have not yet received one of my books that I ordered on April 17, 2024. Abebooks sales order no. 73462**** Abebooks purchase order no.68386**** Tracking no. 21095**** The estimated delivery date was May 27, 2024.
View full review
Yvette M Rns

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Book never received

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - Book never received
AbeBooks - Book never received - Image 2
I reached out to the vendor that my tracking information said that my book had arrived in Toledo, Ohio since the 20th of March. As far as the tracking information it's still there. I'm in NY. I have not heard from the vendor. He has not responded to my email. I don't think at this point l will receive this book.
View full review
Loss:
$5
Pros:
  • Great place to buy traditional books
Cons:
  • Poor service
  • Poor vendors
  • No humans on the phone

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: They have good prices and occasionally they deliver on time but not always. The vendors are independent so it's a crap shoot. I wish they had better customer service. Other than reaching out to the vendor they don't have a phone service that deals with these matters and they just don't care. I really this book and l probably will never see it.

2 comments
Guest

Same here, my order is currently stuck in Toledo, Ohio for over a month with no explanation whatsoever.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2514896

I got a response from Abe books after sending a recent email, that they will contact the vendor. So they are getting the messages that are sent to the vendor.

I think the best thing to is to contact the BBB. I often find that businesses respond to them whether they are associated or not.

I think everyone should at this point do that and see if they can motivate them to take action on our behalf. I am sorry about your situation.

View more comments (1)
Alessandra F Rrc

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Wrong item no live customer support

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - Wrong item no live customer support
AbeBooks - Wrong item no live customer support - Image 2
Do not use this company . They delivered the wrong item and they dont have a quick professional customer support.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not use it!

Shelita Qrc

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer

Problems with seller? Too bad!!!!

AbeBooks - Problems with seller? Too bad!!!!
AbeBooks - Problems with seller? Too bad!!!! - Image 2
AbeBooks - Problems with seller? Too bad!!!! - Image 3
AbeBooks - Problems with seller? Too bad!!!! - Image 4
I bought a hardback book but received a damaged softback book. The seller was willing to give a partial refund, but the damaged book was not worth it, even with the part refund. I have had several e-mail exchanges with the seller. The seller is unable to admit a mistake. It looks like this fraudulent behavior may be a regular occurrence. I'm afraid to send the book back because I'm afraid I will not be reimbursed for shipping. I tried to call the company to complain about the seller and find out what could be done---but as other reviewers have found---no one is there. No e-mail address, no telephone number connected to a human being. -I have bought from Abe Books in the past without problem, but I will not again because buying is a gamble.
View full review
Loss:
$17

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY!!!!!

Amisha Bzt

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Reno, Nevada

Customer Service Nonexistent

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - Customer Service Nonexistent
AbeBooks - Customer Service Nonexistent - Image 2
I ordered a set of 12 cds. The first 3 are missing. I cannot get anyone online or by phone to address my issue. Theres even an ad for some solution co that charges a fee to help you. Seriously?! I have wasted money and now a lot of time with no solution whatsoever.
View full review

User's recommendation: This business sucked for me. Good luck. CC a

Antonio T Frd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Refund not issued

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
It's difficult to rate AbeBooks accurately as they aren't directly responsible for their sellers' conduct, which can be incredibly hit or miss. As for AbeBooks themselves, there's no way to contact customer service by phone (the number is a pre-recorded invitation to contact them via their website) and it takes a bit of work to locate the message option on their website. In my experience, they will respond to a message within a couple of days but you better be VERY specific in your initial message unless you enjoy fairly generic responses to fairly typical issues. The biggest problem with AbeBooks is that you cannot rate a seller for poor performance unless you have received your order first. If your issue involves not having received your order (because it was never sent, for example) you are at an obvious disadvantage when attempting to air your grievance. Additionally, you cannot read reviews of the seller, you can only see their star rating. Well, if you can't rate a scammer, they'll continue to appear as a stellar seller. Buyer beware, I guess, and know that not all products offered by all sellers on AbeBooks actually exist.
View full review
Pros:
  • Have rare items
Cons:
  • Not all sellers are to be trusted
Resolved
Gerald J Npx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker North Wilkesboro, North Carolina

Resolved: Follow up on order

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user May 14, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. by checking the account component of their site, I was able to track down the book. it was delivered the next day.

Original review May 07, 2024
I ordered a book online. it was a reproduction of a Disney workbook. the order was on May 1st, 2024. there has been no recent acknowledgment of receipt of the order or proof of purchase, yet the money was taken according to my credit card. I'm about to cancel the order. if I don't hear by tonight why I have not received acknowledgment of this order. thank you. thank you, Gerald Jacobson
View full review
Brittany M Obj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Wrong shipping address

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
The phone hangs up immediately. Theres no way to reach anyone. The phone picks up and then hangs up on you. Need to speak to someone in reference to my order.
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Resolved
Sue Ann S Qwy

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: I had a recent return and have not received my return postage and there is no way to contact them about and get no responses when I try.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - I had a recent return and have not received my return postage and there is no way to...
Updated by user Feb 17, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. Several attempts at calling with no result and several emails before finally received a response. Was over 2 weeks of attempts to get this resolved.

Original review Feb 09, 2024
I received a book that was advertised as a clean copy with no writing and marking. The book came with lots of writing and marking to the point of unuseable to me. They did a return and refunded the price of the book but not the postage which is as much as the book. Cannot reach anyone and get standard responses in how to do a return.
View full review
Loss:
$6
Pros:
  • Books & prices
  • Cheap books
  • Cheap
Cons:
  • Hard to get customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Be aware that a book may not come in condition it is advertised as. And return may be at your own expense which defeats the idea of return guarantee

Resolved
Arthur S Zut

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Missing delivery of books

AbeBooks - Missing delivery of books
AbeBooks - Missing delivery of books - Image 2
AbeBooks - Missing delivery of books - Image 3
Updated by user Apr 11, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology.

Original review Mar 12, 2024
I have an order of Books ordered through Abe Books. Books said wwre delivered, but to wrong address. Books were never received, left several emails still no response going on 2 weeks now. Waiting for them to contact me 210-849-****
View full review
Loss:
$16
Pros:
  • Price ok
Cons:
  • No resolution no phone to contact

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Resolved
Mark S Abo

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Victoria, British Columbia

Resolved: Their mistake equals my loss

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AbeBooks - Their mistake equals my loss
AbeBooks - Their mistake equals my loss - Image 2
Updated by user Oct 28, 2023

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. Customer service stepped up and resolved the issue.

Original review Oct 20, 2023
Ordered a book with specific cover art that I wanted, but received some mass reprint instead. In order to return it I'd have to spend 55% of the overall cost to ship it back. Feels like I'm dealing with those websites from China. Last time I ever buy from AbeBooks.
View full review
Loss:
$4
Cons:
  • Dont know what youll get
Deb V Xla

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Victoria, British Columbia

No delivery

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I ordered a book on 3/18/2024 that was to arrive by 4/7/2024. As of today I have written the seller three times since 4/8/2024. Could you please look into this and have the book sent or refund my money? Deborah
View full review
Loss:
$643
Pros:
  • Great prices on books
  • Good selection
Cons:
  • No way to reach a customer representative

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Keep track of your orders. I have only experienced two times when a book was never recieved. Abe books is pretty good but this is another time that I realized I hadn’t got it m. I wrote the seller 3 times smarter the day it was to be delivered and didn’t hear from them.

Valerian Ijo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania

Credit card problem

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
After I hit send I realized that the credit card was expired. I wrote ABE to tell them and asked what to do. I got an email saying call Abe. I called and the phone voice hung up. Now what can I do?
View full review
Resolved
Dominick A Ihh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Victoria, British Columbia

Resolved: Status of package

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Mar 13, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. It's still not resolved. I don't have the book going on 3 months.

Original review Feb 27, 2024
I purchase the book for a friend for a birthday on December 25. I still haven't received it. It's been over 3 months. The travel was from NJ to Long Island. I received merchandise from China, and it only took a month. This format didn't allow me to drag and drop my provide: Library Mercantile has provided tracking information for AbeBooks Sales Order Number 73105**** on December 25, 2023.
View full review
Loss:
$27
Pros:
  • Affordable
Cons:
  • Book in limbo

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: I've bought one other time and satified. This time I was embarrassed and very disappointed.

Roshni Vrj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Orlando, Florida

Received the wrong book

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I ordered book 2 and was sent book 1. I ordered Joe Satriani Time. Machine book 2. They sent me Joe Satriani time machine book 1.
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not order through this company

Stephen R Vkw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

PROBLEM WITH ORDER

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
BOOK NOT AS WANTEDXXXXX XXXXX XXXXX XXXXX XXXXX WHY DONT YOU TAKE TELEPHONE CALLS I AM A BOOKSELLER ON ABE AND MADE THE MISTAKE OF BUYING A BOOK THROUGH YOU THAT I WANT TO RETURN - IMPOSSIBLE TO GET ANY RESPONSE WHATSOEVER !!! YOU ARE A DISGRACE stephenrobinson28a@***.com
View full review
Pros:
  • No pros
Cons:
  • To many to mention

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: NEVER EVER USE THEM

About

Related Companies

Amazon, Amazon Canada, Amazon UK, Amazon India, Amazon Prime Video

Summary

AbeBooks was launched in 1996. It is an online marketplace where consumers can buy new, used, rare, out-of-print books and usual cheap textbooks. Additionally, AbeBooks Company provides their clients with the service of connection with thousands of professional booksellers around the world. In the result of this extra service millions of books are listed for sale and are available to potential buyers. AbeBooks offers one more option for the books buyers such as advanced search using different features of the demanded book. The search can be conducted on the basis of information connected with author, title, keyword, ISBN, price, publisher, publishing date, bookseller location of the book or the key attributes such as first edition, dust jacket, sighed of the book. Books can be purchased through the secure server using Visa, MasterCard, American Express and JCB.

AbeBooks reviews and complaints

AbeBooks is ranked 250 out of 2996 in Periodicals & Publishing category

Area Served

Canada, USA

Payment Methods

VISA

Brands Related to AbeBooks

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article